Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
04-26-2023, 10:44 AM   #1

MX focusing problem

Hello everyone

So recently i bought a Pentax MX body and today the 1.7 50mm lens to go with it. The lens clearly has some focusing issues with the wheel not turning fully and being disconnected from the distance scale ring. However I've also noticed the image looking blurry no matter the focal distance, with the shutter speed preview dial inside the viewfinder being blurry even without the lens attached.
This is my first time with a mechanical slr and I'm wondering whether this is a body issue or whether it will resolve itself with a working lens. If it's a body issue do you have any potential solutions to try?

Thanks in advance

04-26-2023, 11:01 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by WOJE Quote
Hello everyone

So recently i bought a Pentax MX body and today the 1.7 50mm lens to go with it. The lens clearly has some focusing issues with the wheel not turning fully and being disconnected from the distance scale ring. However I've also noticed the image looking blurry no matter the focal distance, with the shutter speed preview dial inside the viewfinder being blurry even without the lens attached.
This is my first time with a mechanical slr and I'm wondering whether this is a body issue or whether it will resolve itself with a working lens. If it's a body issue do you have any potential solutions to try?

Thanks in advance
Sounds like a problem with the camera to me. If the viewfinder shutter speed/aperture info seen through the viewfinder is blurry as well as the image, then something is amiss with the camera, as well as the lens issues.

I would check first that there is not a dioptre viewfinder overlay added to the viewfinder itself, but if not my suggestion would be to return the whole package to the seller for a refund and look elsewhere.
04-26-2023, 02:07 PM   #3