Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
06-06-2023, 08:07 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Not a clue what I am looking at here

Decided to turn on the LV grid on borrowed K-1 II, and saw some lines that confused me. I also of course use the OVF and see lines in there.

I did read the manual and these lines (I think) are related to AF frame, but they don't change even if I decide to use spot focus.

What am I seeing? Yes I know total newbie q: but I did try to google it before asking.

Attached Images

View Picture EXIF
IPhone 12 Pro Max  Photo 
06-06-2023, 09:05 PM - 3 Likes   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

They tell you where the af points are. Not the ones selected but the whole range of them.
06-06-2023, 09:11 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by UncleVanya Quote
They tell you where the af points are. Not the ones selected but the whole range of them.
OK, so a general guideline of "keep your stuff in here" I guess?
06-06-2023, 09:18 PM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by madison_wi_gal Quote
Yes. If you look on page 52 of the K-1 ebook (available through the Pentax Forums) you'll see a depiction of where the individual AF points are, and why the guidelines are there. The inner "corners" show the 25 cross type sensor area and the corners farther out show the area covered by the additional 8 sensors.

Not sure about the four corners in the live view. May be also area of focus points.

---------- Post added 06-07-23 at 12:06 AM ----------

OK, on the second picture you posted (the live view), I just confirmed with my own K-1 Mark II. Those four corners are the AF region, in this case the 7 x 5 = 35 contrast detection AF points are inside that rectangle.

Attached Images

06-07-2023, 05:12 AM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter