Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2024, 08:58 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Possible Optical Axis Problem of DFA 24-70

Hi Everyone,

I think I found some evidence of a potential optical axis problem on the pentax DFA 24-70 after I accidentally kicked the tripod, and the lens is dropped inside the snow on the ground (see this post: Problem with lens - Page 2 - PentaxForums.com). I think the tripod was at about 1.5m of height and the lens dropped to the snow-covered ground. I would like to discuss it here, since I am not an expert in lenses.
This is one image I took at night with a tripod that is at f3.5 and 2min of exposure. Picture one is zoomed in the center, and picture two is zoomed in the right side of the image. As I can see, the right side is clearly not in focus, but the middle is in focus. There's another image I took where every other place is not in focus except the right side of the image(see picture five, which is a focus stacked picture of the two pictures). It is clear that picture five's image is more in focus than picture two.
Therefore, I concluded that there may be an optical axis problem with this lens.
Another piece of evidence is here: images six and seven are zoomed in from one image, where six is from the left and seven is from the right. It's clear that six is a focused image and seven is not.
Can anybody help if they agree/disagree with my concerns? I would appreciate any help.

Jerry*

Attached Images

02-10-2024, 09:38 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
This method is the best way to quantify the problem:

How to check how decentered your lens is - phillipreeve.net
02-10-2024, 10:11 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter