Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2009, 12:58 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Macro lens suggestions?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I'm really new to this, having done primarily P&S with low-res Olympus cameras in the past. On occasion I do closeup and detail photos such as this,

and I'm wanting to get a lens/flash setup for my new K100D that will do this kind of shot, or even greater magnification. My current lens is an SMC DA 18-55 (the kit lens) and I have a Tamron 28-300 on the way, as well as a Sigma 530DG super. I think with the addition of a really good close-up lens my emerging LBA will be satisfied.

I don't exactly know what to search for on the forum, so suggestions and advice on that would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

02-02-2009, 01:24 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For that type of close-up work, a vintage Pentax 50mm macro lens, A or M versions would be a possibility. Also the Sigma 50mm macro is not to price new ~$249 and is AF and 1:1 and is a good lens, especially for your body. If you want the ultimate bling, the Pentax DA 35mm ltd macro is an option as is the Sigma 70mm macro. If you every plan on doing macro on things require a longer working distance, such as 'bugs', something 90mm or longer is the way to go although the 70mm mentioned would work.

As far as currently produced dedicated macro Lenses:

Pentax 35mm ltd
Pentax D fa 50mm f2.8
Pentax D FA 100mm f2.8

Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX DG
Sigma 70mm f2.8 EX DG
Sigma 105mm f2.8 EX DG
Sigma 180mm f2.5 EX DG

Tamron 90mm f2.8

Zeiss 100mm macro (don't ask the price)

These are all good lenses.

As far as the used market goes, there are a plethora of choices there also.