Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-11-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Inactive Account

a total newbie needs help with actuations and lenses

so... im a complete newbie with dslr...

i've spent some time wit a pentax film slr that my dad bought me
when i was in high school... but i never had dslr.....

anyways... the question is

how much do actuations/shutter count matter???
i know its like the car mileage and stuff...
i should judge the camera by just the actuation..
but i have no frame of reference or anything like that.....

since im just trying to get into dslr, i was thinking of getting a used one...
(of course a PENTAX!!! woot woot!)
but the actuations kinda got me worried/confused at same time...

what's the good/decent actuation count for a used dslr for a newbie like me???

also i have these glasses that my dad bought me with the film slr

SMC Pentax-FAJ 1:3.5(22) - 5.6(38) 28-80mm AL
SMC Pentax-FA 80-200mm 1:4.7-5.6

since i have the 28-80mm...
would it make more sense for me to just use that lens wit the dslr im gonna get,
or should i get the DA 18-55mm that are usually bundled???

any advice/recommendation would be great.

thanks guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02-11-2009, 02:40 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Well my K10D just went into the shop last week with aprox. 102,000 actuations and it wasn't the shutter that went bad.

Anything in the 20,000 range is good because with normal use it shouldn't reach anything too crazy for a couple of years.

I'm an odd case and pretty much abused that camera
02-11-2009, 03:00 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by kwonjustin Quote
also i have these glasses that my dad bought me with the film slr

SMC Pentax-FAJ 1:3.5(22) - 5.6(38) 28-80mm AL
SMC Pentax-FA 80-200mm 1:4.7-5.6

since i have the 28-80mm...
would it make more sense for me to just use that lens wit the dslr im gonna get,
or should i get the DA 18-55mm that are usually bundled???