Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2009, 06:18 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
First SLR

I am new to the Pentax DSLR camp but not so much so to Pentax cameras and glass (old K1000 guy).

But, I wanted to know, what were peoples EARLIEST SLR experiences and BEST SLR experiences?

I will tell you my first SLR was K1000 and some glass I borrowed from my father. Sadly, when I moved out, Dad was not easily parted from his K1000 and I was only able to use it on the weekends, when I asked nicely. After a few hours I picked up a Pentax Super Program and used it for awhile. Plus, all kinds of cameras in between the Super Program and my now beloved K200D

One of my best experiences was when I purchased a Zenit-E (Zenit (camera) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia) with plenty of glass, which I got off of eBay almost 9 years ago. I'll tell you, you never really knew what you were going to get out of that old thing. It is a 1980 Moscow Olympics edition and it still sits in my closet, complete with all those 42mm lenses that I am hoping to get an adapter to use with my K200D.

Jason

02-13-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I bought my first SLR in 1980, a Ricoh KR-5. Bought it brand new from Fox Photo, I believe it was $99.99. I still have it, and even after several drops, one dunk in a river, and getting soaked in a bag that I thought was waterproof, it is still working as well as ever. I am pretty sure I still have the box it came in!!

Here she is !!

02-13-2009, 11:14 PM   #3
Pentaxian

I found my first good camera in a rental car. It was a Nikonos-IVa. If I had any idea of what it was worth, I would have tracked down the owner. For a while I didn't even know how it worked, until someone in Woods Hole, MA showed me. I used it underwater about twice.