Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2009, 05:34 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Dslr noobie

Hello Pentaxians,

Ordered a white K-m and it should arrive in the next few days. I'm new to dslr's (coming from a Canon S5 and an older Canon p&s) and I was wondering what issues do I need to be aware of with the K-m. When I say issues, I don't mean "issues" like those mentioned in DPReview. I did a search, but could not find a hardware issue with the K-m. The first thing I plan to do is update the firmware then (attempt to) take some shots. What should I do to make sure that the camera is not defective right out of the box? What kinds of test shots should I perform?

Thank you for your advice.

bladerunner0427

02-17-2009, 08:45 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Test it out as you would with any camera - at a range of apertures, ISO levels and lighting conditions.
See if it performs to your expectations.
02-17-2009, 11:26 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Yes, I will. I supposed there isn't any real problems with the K-m. I've seen plenty of pictures on flickr.com taken by the K-m. I'm aware of it's capabilities. Can't wait to test it out.
02-18-2009, 11:55 AM   #4
Pentaxian

You could test for a few things. I never did any of these.

- A photo of a dark cloudy sky might reveal hot/stuck pixels. Some software like Adobe Camera RAW automatically removes these - I'm not sure what the best hot pixel viewing software is.

- Check autofocus, first with high-contrast, well-lit subjects, then with less contrast or light. Note that AF is not perfect or capable of focusing all the time, so discovering its limits is not the same as discovering that AF doesn't work.