Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-21-2009, 11:49 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Lens filters...

I just got a K20D (I'm loving it!) I am totally new to photography. I don't know anything about lens filters. As a newbie, do I need any? Do I need UV filters to protect my lenses when I'm shooting outside? Are there any other filters I need to consider? Brand?

PS - I have a Pentax SMCP-FA 50 mm 1.4 prime lens and a Pentax 75 mm - 300 mm - f/4.5-5.8 AL zoom lens.

TIA!

02-21-2009, 12:43 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Basically there is no need for filters. If you shoot in harsh environments, i.e. at a windy beach, where your lens is exposed to salt water spray or sand, a protective filter makes sense. Oztherwise in most circumstances the lens hood, that comes with your lens (or if not, you should buy one) provides enough protection.

If you advance in photography you will experience the need for two or three more filter types:
- polarizing filters, which intensify colours by removing glare. They are most often used to darken a bright blue sky. For the K20 you would buy (as forany other digital camera) for the so called "circular polarizer", not the older "linear" variety.

- a graduated grey filter looks exactly that. A grey (colour neutral) graduation from dense at the rim to completely clear near the other rim of the filter. I is used to darken an overly bright area in the image. The aim is, to reduce the contrast of the image, to allow for a better capture by the camera. It is often used to reduce the sky brightness, but could also be used to reduce the intensity of snow or bright sand at a sunny beach.