Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-22-2009, 09:37 AM   #1

need help with new lens :(

Hi all,
It was my birthday yesterday and my gf bought me a new lens
As thrilled as I were, I seemed to have trouble trying to get one of the functions to work.

This is the lens she got me:
Sigma - Lenses
70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG MACRO

I tried to use the macro function but couldn't get it to work. I kept on getting blurry views that can't be focused properly when I push up the macro button.
I couldn't make much out of the tiny supplied manual so I decided to look it up on the net. But unfortunately I couldn't find any how-to's on this, or similar lens.

I'm trying to use it with a pentax k100D super btw.

I'm really a noob on these things so any help much appreciated!

Thanks and regards.

02-22-2009, 10:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Perhaps a silly question, but did you try backing up? The min focus distance is 95cm (about 3ft).
02-22-2009, 10:19 AM   #3

Original Poster
^
Yep, tried that already.
Same thing unfortunately.
02-22-2009, 11:39 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I don't have this lens so I'm going to make general suggestions which may be more stuff you've tried. For this type of photo, you'll need a lot of light. Noon at the height of summer in a tropical location is a good start. The light is needed so you can have a good shutter speed, like 1/125s or 1/250, and a small aperture like f11 or f16. You'll probably also need to go to ISO 400 or more. Those settings sound extreme for regular photography, but for macro photography you need them for decent depth of field and to reduce the possibility of camera shake or subject movement. With high magnification at close distances, your depth of field at f5.6 or f8 will be way too small.