Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-27-2009, 10:12 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Safe for my K200D?

Sorry to sound like a noob here, but I just wondered if it would be safe to put a piece of tape over the electrical contacts on my K200D. The piece will have a little bit of foil to depress the "'A' lens detector". The reason I want to do this is to allow my M-50mm f2 to have auto exposure. If this is a bad idea, what should I do then? 55mm f2 M42? A-50mm f2? Each one is cheaper than a repair bill.

(Yes, I know that electrical contacts can be cleaned with a pencil eraser.)

Thanks!

02-28-2009, 08:09 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by MaxwellL Quote
Sorry to sound like a noob here, but I just wondered if it would be safe to put a piece of tape over the electrical contacts on my K200D. The piece will have a little bit of foil to depress the "'A' lens detector". The reason I want to do this is to allow my M-50mm f2 to have auto exposure. If this is a bad idea, what should I do then? 55mm f2 M42? A-50mm f2? Each one is cheaper than a repair bill.

(Yes, I know that electrical contacts can be cleaned with a pencil eraser.)

Thanks!
One method that I've used successfully with my M50 f/2 is to raise the aperture to f22 before mounting it to the camera. Mount the lens with the lens cap off so that you can see the aperture blades. Twist the lens as far as you can before the aperture blades start to move. You can then select your aperture and have the result immediately apparent in the viewfinder rather than having to press the green button and have the body stop down the lens.

There's two major downfalls though: 1) The lens is not locked on to the body. I know a few other guys have likely dropped a lens or two, so extreme caution is advised.

2) When using a smaller aperture, the image in the viewfinder might be very difficult to focus with.