Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2009, 11:28 AM   #1
Inactive Account

*ist DL with Metz 44 flash, quick question

So glad I found this site!

I'm new to the DLSR world. Put me in the group that got a good deal from Wolf Camera on the *ist DL for $250.00

I also got my hands on a used Metz 44af-3p flash, but no manual for the flash.

I just want to take good photos of the kids, family, dogs, etc. I'm having a hard time getting the camera tweaked for the best settings for indoor family shots.

I did figure out that bouncing the flash off the ceiling is much better!

It seems that the shots are over-exposed. If anyone has suggestions on the best settings, I would appreciate it.

In the short time I have had this DLSR, I have much more respect for those pros out there! Much more to this than point and shoot.

03-10-2009, 08:34 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Bouncing off the ceiling is a great approach and helps a lot to make images look less harsh and 'flashy'. This works well in most residential settings with white ceilings. Try not to overdo it or get too close or your subjects will have dark shadows under eyes & noses. I don't think the Metz 44 af-3p is P-TTL, so it isn't really compatible with your *ist DL's flash metering. It seems likely that it is always firing at full power. It does however have a manual mode that would allow you to manually reduce the power. I believe on your flash there is a 'M' (full output) and a 'MLo' with 1/8 output. Beyond that you can modulate the exposure by changing aperture and ISO. (Shutter speed doesn't have much of an effect on flash because the flash burst is generally of very short duration).