Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-10-2009, 02:50 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Canadian Cannonite looking to get into pentax film cameras.

Hi all,

I'm new to the pentax system and thought I'd say hello. I have an old spotmatic IB dated to the 1950-60s that I'm learning on stepping into film with. My name is Karl and I'm a pro-photographer in the canadian arctic and specialize in northern lights' fine art. Most of my invested gear is in Canon.

I want to learn as much as I can about film, but I only have a 55 1.8 super takumar m42 mount lens, and have had a really hard time locating other lenses to fit this camera. I really like the pictures yielded from the pentax, though. I was wondering if anyone knew if I could get a special m42 mount for my canon lenses and use them on the spotmatic.

Crazy dream eh? I don't know much about film, yet, but does the camera body have to do with a lot of how good your pictures will turn out (like in digital) or is it the quality of the film in the camera?

Anyone got a link to a dealer where I can buy pentax m42 mount lenses in Canada?

If you're interested in what I do you can see my gallery, located here;

http://www.satoristudios.wordpress.com

Last edited by Karl J; 03-10-2009 at 02:56 PM.
03-10-2009, 02:55 PM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Karl J Quote
I was wondering if anyone knew if I could get a special m42 mount for my canon lenses and use them on the spotmatic.
answer is no, the canon EF mount has the shortest registration distance (from back of lens to the sensor/film iirc) out of any current camera. which is why almost all SLR lenses should at least mount on canon, however, there are other issues w/ regards to hitting the mirror.

QuoteQuote:
Crazy dream eh? I don't know much about film, yet, but does the camera body have to do with a lot of how good your pictures will turn out (like in digital) or is it the quality of the film in the camera?