Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-11-2009, 02:49 PM   #1

Need some buying advice.

Hi, I'm new!

I'm looking to upgrade to a DSLR from my bridge camera. I've been extremely happy with the results from my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50s, but I think I'd like to upgrade to something with more flexibility and greater capability.

I had never considered Pentax until it was recommended to me on another site and I've done some reading and it seems like a very good choice.

I do a lot of portraiture - I have three small children and I work on other people's children for fun (not profit). I also do general shooting on outings and whatnot.

I've been looking at the K20D reviews and had to hold the drool back in my mouth. I am totally new to the idea of lenses as a separate piece of equipment, though. So here's my question.....I see I can get the K20D body and 18-55mm lens for around $800 which seems pretty amazing.

What additional lens(es) would you recommend for portrait work with children/babies?

What basic "all purpose" lens would you recommend or will the kit lens be sufficient to start out with?

03-11-2009, 03:15 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I would say to start with the kit lens and see how well it covers the types of pictures you want to take. (This is from my extensive camera experience - of 3 months of casual use, lol).

Just remember, lens buying can be addictive (AND very expensive).

P.S. Search the forums. I know this question has been asked before.

Last edited by chalion; 03-11-2009 at 03:17 PM. Reason: added time served in camera ownership
03-11-2009, 03:21 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The kit lens is designed for all-purposeness and does pretty well. I would not look for a direct replacement right away. You get quite a bit more wide angle with this lens than the Panasonic.