Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-12-2009, 05:01 AM   #1
Forum Member

How to check Back Focus/Front Focus

Hi guys,

I am new to DSLR's!
I am about to get my first DSLR k200d. After reading tons of reviews and faq's about this camera, I would like to know how to check BF/FF? or .. hmmm.... let's say in case I will have this problem, how can I fix it? I am thinking about getting the kit version.

thanks.

03-12-2009, 07:49 AM   #2
Behind-Camera

QuoteOriginally posted by grishazzz Quote
Hi guys,

I am new to DSLR's!
I am about to get my first DSLR k200d. After reading tons of reviews and faq's about this camera, I would like to know how to check BF/FF? or .. hmmm.... let's say in case I will have this problem, how can I fix it? I am thinking about getting the kit version.

thanks.
Hello. Well http://focustestchart.com/focus21.pdf should help you.
03-12-2009, 08:49 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
thank you!!!
very good FAQ!
03-12-2009, 09:07 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Personally, I don't like that chart all that much, though it can be a bit helpfull. I've described one technique I use in this thread, you could use the chart, or my angled dvd boxes, or just any real life scene with a definite focus point which you're sure the camera has locked on to, to assess whether your camera has a marked FF or BF tendency. If it does, you'll have to send it to Pentax for adjustment (unlike the K20D which has a menu option for user correction of mis-focus - this is the #1 reason I'm glad I upgraded to the K20D from the K200D).

03-12-2009, 09:42 AM   #5
Behind-Camera

When I had Pentax DL after changing the lens I quickly entered the Service Menu and did an AF correction, of course it was slow but it was way better than shooting with BF or FF
03-12-2009, 09:52 AM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Behind-Camera Quote