Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-16-2009, 08:49 PM   #1
Inactive Account

completely lost

I evidently can't read well because I have spent hours reading the manual and still cannot figure out how to get my camera to take a picture inside , like in a gym at a basketball game w/o the flash...using the k200d with the 18-55II lens and have no idea how to set the shutter speed to take decent pics, shutter worked real slow and gave me blurry pics tried using the sports mode, the flashless mode and manual, and if manual set faster shutter I got black pics,,,,I think the manual is not written for someone who has never had a digital slr, but for someone who understands the terminolgy has just upgraded.. I am a complete noob and am completely lost,,,,and I am "old" but not stupid,,, least way didn't think so til I go tthis camera. Was tryinf to take pics at my grandsons basketball game,, can someone give me the precise settings/moves to make at each turn to get good pics in this situation?

03-16-2009, 09:00 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
For indoor basketball, you'd need some SERIOUS flash power, a lot more than the pop up has to offer. You'll have to bump up your ISO as low as you can and still have acceptable shutter speeds. Try putting your K200d into Tv mode (Shutter Priority) and set the ISO to 1600 or 3200 (if you absolutely have to). You can select the shutter speed you need to stop the action and the aperture will adjust accordingly. Remember, as you increase ISO, you will get more noise and worse color rendition, so it's all a trade off.

You can always underexpose intentionally and try to recapture some light later in processing. It's best to shoot RAW if you intend to try this. It will also result in additional noise, but you might get some sharper images.