Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2009, 04:20 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Non-TTL / Auto Flash compatibility w/ istDS

Hi, I just recently got a used Pentax *ist DS, and I have a question about the flash (normal one non-ttl) compatibility with ist DS. I've read the manual and search google to no avail.

My previous camera was Panasonic FZ50. Being a low budget amateur, i found that the Panasonic's dedicated flashes too expensive. So, to make story short, i eventually got a used Nikon SB-20, it's the cheapest i could get with the features i wanted (auto with 5 aperture settings, manual with 5 power ratio, can be tilted, etc)

Of course, the TTL of Nikon and Panasonic arent matched, so I removed 3 of the pin/contacts and leaving just the middle pin (pictures can be seen here). This way, my SB-20 is just a normal flash, non-TTL AFAIK. Anyway, it works flawlessly on FZ50, on auto and manual mode.

I've also checked the voltage, it's 2-3v so it should be safe both on FZ50 and *istDS. But when i mount the flash on my DS, my DS doesnt recognize the flash at all. At first i thought the pins are dirty but i've cleaned them up and it's still the same. So I've a few questions about this:

1. Can istDS work with normal/non-TTL/auto flash like my 'special' SB-20?
2. On FZ50, when the flash is mounted and turned on, I can see the external flash icon on FZ50 lcd. Is there any similar icon in Pentax istDS top LCD, back LCD or viewfinder?
3. I notice that the pins on my DS have the exact same location with the pins on my SB-20, so, if the answer of no. 1 is a no, would it wise to try putting back the pins on SB-20 (I still keep them) and try mounting on DS again?

Thanks in advance.

03-17-2009, 06:23 AM   #2
Pentaxian