Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2009, 03:20 PM   #1

Need Advice - K200 or K20??

Hi there,

I'm new to the DSLR world, but have some experience with a standard SLR. I own and love my old K1000 though I rarely use it anymore. And I certainly wouldn't call myself an expert with it.

Anyhow, I've decided to purchase a Pentax and am looking at the K200 and the K20. Truthfully, the K200 has everything I need in a camera and (I'm hoping) is user friendly enough for someone with only a small amount of SLR experience. My dilemma, however, is discovering that on Amazon right now the K20 is only about $165 more than the K200. That doesn't seem like a whole lot more money to get an upgraded camera.

So I guess my question is, should I go ahead and splurge on the K20? I know there will be a lot for me to learn about BOTH cameras and I'm fully committed to doing this. Fortunately, I understand the basic principles of light meters, shutter speeds, apertures, etc...but there's still a whole lot of digital lingo that goes WAY over my head.

The idea that I could learn to master the K20 and end up with a better camera is appealing, but the K200 is a perfectly good camera as well. And I could probably afford to get an extra lens with the money I save.

So obviously I'm torn. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

03-22-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Igilligan

For only 165 dollars more... Absolutely get the K20d!

The ability to adjust front and back focus issue on individual lenses is worth that alone. Not including the wonderful sensor on the K20 and the cropping ability of that sensor... Some higher usable ISO shots....

Absolutely get the K20d

And believe me when I say that the ability to buy a lens with the 165 you save... over time you will be spending so much on lenses that one single lens will amount to a hill of beens... whatever that means.