Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-24-2009, 01:41 PM   #1

How to display photos for art exhibition?

I'm new to photography and have never exhibited photos before. I have been asked if I would like to provide some photos for an art exhibition by local artists and amateur photographers.
I have no idea how to prepare the photos for the exhibition. Should they be framed or block mounted or just glued on cardboard or what?
I have 3 or 4 photos of 11 X 14 or 16 X 20 inch sizes.
I dont want to spend money getting them framed at a store or anything.
Any suggestions from people who have done this?

03-25-2009, 03:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I have not exhibited photographs, but I have showcased my sketches and paintings at artshows. I generally get pre-made frames and then use a masking tape to tape my work to the matting inside the frame. It should work for the size of the photographs you mention.
03-25-2009, 07:48 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

The photos should be either mounted or in a portfolio. Nothing is worse than poor presentation.
We use spray adhesive to mount pictures to foam core at the studio, it seems to work.
03-25-2009, 08:09 AM   #4
Veteran Member

I imagine the organizers of the exhibit have some guidelines on mounting preferences. You should just give them a call. I'd bet though that foamcore mounted with spray adhesive and with a basic single color matt (black or white) would be perfectly fine. If you've got any big craft store chains Down Under (a-la HobbyLobby), they likely have a framing section where you can get pre-cut matts and the other supplies very reasonably.

03-25-2009, 10:47 AM   #5
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Wheatfield,
I have been considering this. Do you cut the foam core to size and then glue the photo or trim the foam core after gluing?
Thanks
03-25-2009, 12:11 PM   #6
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by al_undy Quote
Wheatfield,