Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2009, 01:36 PM   #16

QuoteOriginally posted by Mike Cash Quote
Canon cameras have no "Manual" mode? I find that a bit hard to believe.
Sorry I wasn't clear, I meant that there is no automatic iris operation with manual focus lenses on Canon dslrs, so you have to set the aperture wide open (so that there's enough light) to allow you to focus, and then set the aperture to the actual one you want.

I'm new to all this, so I could be wrong, but that's what I got from reading this article:

Canon EOS lens Adapters - Manual focus lenses on Canon EOS bodies

I'm so glad Pentax allows you to use manual focus lenses the "normal" way. I can't wait to get my k2000 and MF lens.

03-31-2009, 01:49 PM   #17
Banned

QuoteOriginally posted by greentea3 Quote
Sorry I wasn't clear, I meant that there is no automatic iris operation with manual focus lenses on Canon dslrs, so you have to set the aperture wide open (so that there's enough light) to allow you to focus, and then set the aperture to the actual one you want.

I'm new to all this, so I could be wrong, but that's what I got from reading this article:

I'm so glad Pentax allows you to use manual focus lenses the "normal" way. I can't wait to get my k2000 and MF lens.
yup, due to the canon having no mechanical linkage between camera body and lens, the body has no way of operating the aperture. basically its like having a fully manual lens (manual aperture) and no light meter. canon is completely electronic in its communication and operation of lenses. you would be really happy if Pentax hadn't dropped the open aperture coupler for the light meter in the late 90's. because then you could do proper open aperture metering just like any manual focus Pentax K mount or late screw mount body. ie: no 'green button' required.
04-01-2009, 11:13 PM   #18
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums