Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2009, 09:10 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Older lenses compared to new ones

This is following on from Madhatter's thread really... but having read the guidelines I'm starting a new thread as I feel it's different "enough" to warrant it.

I've just bought myself a K20D with a view to some semi-pro work ( I'm new to Pentax but not even slightly new to photography ). I'm not in the slightest bothered about autofocus or the added weight. The only thing I might be bothered about is aperture functions... but surely if I meter through the lens and adjust shutter speed in manual mode there's nothing to worry about there either? or is this where the fabled green button comes into play?

Are the old lenses genuinely comparable to the new ones in terms of image quality ( this being my prime concern above all else )? If they are then eBay is most certainly going to be my friend...

Apologies if these questions have been answered elsewhere, I'm just keen to get up to speed with a brand I have no experience of.

edit: forgot to mention - the intention is to use primes and I'm not fussed about the EXIF data containing focal length etc...

Last edited by beardybrave; 03-31-2009 at 09:11 AM. Reason: spelling
03-31-2009, 09:47 AM   #2
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by beardybrave Quote
Are the old lenses genuinely comparable to the new ones in terms of image quality ( this being my prime concern above all else )? If they are then eBay is most certainly going to be my friend...
Just go down to the Pentax SLR Lens Discussion forum and check the following threads. Takumar club, The Off-Brand Club!!, The A Club, The M Club! You then come to your own conclusion.
03-31-2009, 09:51 AM   #3
Veteran Member

...if I meter through the lens and adjust shutter speed in manual mode there's nothing to worry about there either? or is this where the fabled green button comes into play?