Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-02-2009, 12:21 PM   #1

Looking at changing from Nikon to pentax

I currently have a Nikon D40 with only the kit lens so Im not that well invested in the system. Have been looking at changing from Nikon to Pentax. Pentax is more in my price range for lenses than any good name brand Nikon glass. Also I love primes and Pentax has lots more than Nikon, and the pancake lenses look really attractive. I do a lot of outdoor photography with hiking and bike touring in mind. Weather proofing is a huge issue. I am well aware of the issues with auto focus problems.

04-02-2009, 12:37 PM   #2

Photos: Albums
Sounds like you are set to jump! The new DA primes should be very well suited to your interest (though not weather sealed). I am new to shooting primes myself and am having a great time.
04-02-2009, 01:05 PM   #3

Original Poster
Yeah I have a few primes from old canon film manual focus cameras that were passed down. Itsa a shame I cant use them anymore.
I think for weather proofing DA* zooms
04-02-2009, 01:10 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Welcome to the forum. I have found that many of my questions were readily answered by those here. Post away and again welcome!

04-02-2009, 01:44 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Welcome, ecoronin! There are many of us on here that have switched from Nikon to Pentax. Glad to see you've done some research first.
04-02-2009, 01:52 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ecoronin Quote