Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2009, 04:20 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Spot metering - can I select?

Hi,

I purchased a K200d a few months ago and let me tell you... I love it!

I'm trying out new capabilities and I'm new to the whole photography thing. I just learned about spot metering vs. matrix metering; however, I was wondering what the deal is and how I can use it to my benefit.

I love using the Av feature and I am trying to get more creative shots. I hear that spot metering usually rests on the center of the photo; however, I use the manual focus points ALL THE TIME.

If you switch to spot metering, will the spot be determined by what your focus point is on or just always be the center?

Thanks for helping a noob!

04-03-2009, 05:30 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Unfortunately no. The spot meter is always in the center, no matter which focus point you select.
04-03-2009, 05:55 PM   #3
Veteran Member

as RBellavance said, no.
But using the multi-segment metering, you can set custom function [5] to Link the AF point and the AE metering. It doesn't explain it in great detail, but this I assume will give more weight to the focus point you've selected, which is similar to what you are talking about, with more or less accuracy depending on the situation, as using the center spot meter presents a different set of challenges.
04-03-2009, 06:42 PM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by khardur Quote
as RBellavance said, no.
But using the multi-segment metering, you can set custom function [5] to Link the AF point and the AE metering. It doesn't explain it in great detail, but this I assume will give more weight to the focus point you've selected, which is similar to what you are talking about, with more or less accuracy depending on the situation, as using the center spot meter presents a different set of challenges.