Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-08-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Church Photoshoot Suggestions?

Well This Saturday My Cousin Is Having His First Communion & Well Ima Be The Photographer.

My Pentax K20D & Me!
But I'm A Beginner I've Had This Camera For Only 2 Months..
Haven't Learn Much Since Then..
I'm Still Shooting On Auto..

Based Off My Equipment.. I only got the 18-55mm & The 50-200mm..

The First Communion Is At 7.. The church is ganna be a Bit dark.. There far I'm a Little Concerned about Lighting.. But I contacted my family & They said that the pastor is OK with flash So ima be using flash...

Any suggestions tho? Filters?
Should I shoot JPEG? RAW? Or RAW+

But to me it looks like RAW or RAW+ takes natural light from the pics...
So Idk..

Any Suggestions or help?
Also the Custom settings.. What do ya suggest?

04-08-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
With the lens you have, you will need the flash. Saying so, get extra and extra batteries for flash.
On the ohter hand you can bump up the iso but will get a lot of noise.

Best idea is to go there some days before at the same hour and make some shooting images to know what to aspect concerning light.

No need for filters except UV (I always use it with my lens )
Shoot raw so you can correct WB later or other "problems".

Good Luck
04-08-2009, 10:12 AM   #3
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
No expert here. But if you are shooting in low light condition and have to use your zoom, you'll probably want to increase the ISO to 800 or 1600 or so as your flash may not reach. unless you are using a tripod of some sort.

Problems with low light shooting and the kit lens is if you don't have the flash light to help with faster shutter speeds you' may be getting more blurry shots than you expect.

I don't think you should use any filters for this type of setting unless you have a softener filter for portrait shots.