Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-14-2009, 11:59 AM   #1

Lens, Flash, etc. questions from a newbie

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi,I

hope these questions aren't too redundant. I haven't seen them asked (and answered) in a way that gives the exact information I am looking for.

First some background. I'm a long-time film DSLR amateur, most recently with ZX-50 & ZX-M cameras. We got a p&s digital 5 years ago when our daughter was born, and our film use has dropped to nothing. So, I finally want to take the jump and get DSLR so I can go back to having the shooting flexibility I am used to. But money is tight, so I can't really afford to spend a bunch on new accessories. I ordered a K200D, which should be here at the end of the week. I'll probably keep the ZX-M for the occasional role of Tri-X or T-Max, but not much else.

I have 3 lenses for the film cameras: a Sigma 28-70 f/2.8-4 UC, a Sigma 70-210 f/4-5.6, and a Pentax FA 50 f/1.4. I ordered the camera body only since I have a reasonable assortment of lenses already. I know the Sigmas aren't the greatest lenses ever, but I was generally satisfied with their performance on film. Will I still be equally satisfied with their performance on the K200, or will I regret not getting the kit lens? I do know I'm giving up some zoom on the wide-angle side and I'm willing to live with that.