Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2009, 03:36 PM   #1

ISO Settings Help

Hello
I was recently asked to take some photos for a friend's birthday party.
As a newbie, I forgot to reset my ISO setting back to 100-400 range.
I took loads of shots with Raw+ with an ISO range of 100-3200 without reviewing the info. Most of the shots came out 800, 1600.
I was wandering is it possible to change the ISO setting of the pictures to a lower setting like 100-400 after the shots have been taken?
If yes, how can this be accomplished?

04-19-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You can adust the exposure to some extent, but unfortunately the ISO setting has other side effects such as noise that you cannot simply change with RAW... i.e. ISO affects the signal from the sensor before it is stored in the RAW format, unlike white balance for example, which could be thought of almost as somewhat of a post-processing effect.
04-19-2009, 05:16 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by photapioca Quote
I was wandering is it possible to change the ISO setting of the pictures to a lower setting like 100-400 after the shots have been taken?
No. It's kind of like asking if it's possible to change a painting from an oil painting to a watercolor after it's been painted. Once the picture is taken, it's done and you have to live with it.

I've configured the settings in my camera to turn on the "ISO" indicator in the viewfinder and on the LCD screen if the ISO is set above 200. I don't always notice it, but on a few occasions I've seen it and realized I had to reset my ISO back down again.
04-19-2009, 05:33 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by photapioca Quote
Hello
I was recently asked to take some photos for a friend's birthday party.
As a newbie, I forgot to reset my ISO setting back to 100-400 range.