Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2009, 04:06 PM   #1

Newbie Purchase

Hi All,

Just wanted to say I am new to this (Hence why Im posting in here) but would like to know if I got a good deal. I just purchased a K10D brand new for $600 AUD (Body Only). I would have got a lens kit with it but the place of purchase didnt have any. So I went to another camera shop and was sold a Sigma 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 DL Aspherical IF Hyperzoom for $299. Now Im not sure what this all means but as no one had any lens kits in my area, I had to get this one. I want to mainly take surf photos. So Im not sure if this is where I should start with a lense. Did I get a good deal for what I want to shoot?

Thanks

04-26-2009, 04:25 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Well I would say you did get a fairly good deal, the K10D is a good camera and infact better than most that you'd buy for $600.00 body only. And as far as the lens goes an excellent price at $299.00 as the average price for a lens like that would be around $690.00 to $750.00. So well done. If you are taking surfing shots from the shore you may need to save up for a 500mm lens. BTW when you start using telephoto lenses you really need to have them tripod mounted so if you don't have a good solid tripod it may pay you to think about getting one. And remember to turn the "anti shake" off on your camera when using a tripod.
04-26-2009, 04:28 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Noted Pentaxian Mark Dimalanta takes a lot of surf pictures:

chasing light...

From what I remember he uses a FA*600 for his shore-side pictures.
04-26-2009, 07:24 PM   #4

Original Poster