Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2009, 12:54 PM   #1
Banned

Decisions decisions!

Hi all,

I'm a new member here. I'm finally upgrading to a DSLR from my dying P&S. I have done my research and I have narrowed it down to the Pentax K20D which I find has all the features that I want. Canon and Nikon are too expensive for my budget, plus they are not weather sealed like the Pentax cameras. I don't do sports but will be spending a lot of my time taking photos of my plants and flowers and my pets, dogs, cats, backyard wild birds and hopefully do some nature shots as well.

Should I wait and get the the newer K-7 or whatever it is going to be called which I'm sure will cost a whole lot more or should I save my money and just get the K20D? I have never used a DSLR before so I should probably just get the K20D and learn how to use one? Also, what lens should I get to take pictures of my flowers (mostly macro), plants, garden, pets, humans and wildlife nature stuff?

Thanks for any suggestions!

Peter

04-30-2009, 01:35 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Peter,

I would wait until the K7 comes out because there will be a flood of K10/20's hitting ebay and the market place here. The K7 will by all reports cost well over $1k so why not wait and try and scoop up a k20d for $3-500.

If you want to do macro work, buy a macro lens. I spent years using zooms and extension tubes before I finally bought a true macro lens, I went with the Sigma, and I love it.

The big decision will be 50mm or 90 or 105 or 200 (if you can find one) I think the 90-105 range is about perfect,,gives you some stand off room.

The other lenses I would recommend are the 12-24 Pentax, either the Sigma or Tamron 2?-7? and then a 70-200mm f2.8.
04-30-2009, 01:40 PM   #3

Photos: Gallery