Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-05-2009, 06:24 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
best way to store dig files?

need advice...
what is best for storing my new digital pics, external hard drive (portable), or cd's?
i'm leaning toward the external hard drive but would like to hear from people that have experience, i'm new to the digital world.
thanks much

05-05-2009, 07:40 PM   #2

I would suggest storing your files on a computer, and then use an external hard drive as a backup.
05-05-2009, 08:02 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

Use a second hard drive in your computer and as many external hard drives as you can justify to the planning department.
I never really feel I have a file safely stored until I have three copies of it.
05-05-2009, 09:06 PM   #4
Forum Member

Same here, I use my desktop with two hard drives, back up to an external drive from the desktop and also keep copies on the laptop as well.

05-05-2009, 09:52 PM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by kjacks Quote
what is best for storing my new digital pics, external hard drive (portable), or cd's?
DON'T use CDs or DVDs. It takes a lot longer to put files on them, and over time you'll find it that having dozens or hundreds of discs to deal with becomes a real burden. And having to manually load the discs into your computer discourages you from using them and making backups.

Use a hard drive. It doesn't matter that much whether it's an internal or external drive, but my preference is to use an internal one because it just makes it that much easier to go find pictures on a whim.

Make at least two backups (for a total of 3 copies) of your pictures, and store one copy offsite so that it's protected against theft and other risks.