Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2009, 07:11 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Best 50mm prime for K20D?

This is my first post here!

I'm a newbie thinking of purchasing a K20D in the near future. I'm interested in getting a 50mm prime for it.

It seems, for the K20D, the options are from the Pentax-A onwards. What's the best 50mm in terms of IQ and value of money (in that order)? I don't mind MF. In particular, how does the Pentax-FA 1.4 compare to the older lenses?

Also, where's the best place to buy (both used/new)? I'm from Sydney, Australia.

Thanks again.

05-11-2009, 07:43 AM   #2

There is a lot of information in regards to your question in this forum. I just went through the same and settled on the FA 50mm 1.4. Below is a link that will give you a start.

the Normal Lens Shootout Photo Gallery by Sean Carpenter at pbase.com
05-11-2009, 09:35 AM   #3
Forum Member

I can recommend sigma Ex 50/1,4 dg. I got my own a couple days ago, and its so sharp and Fast! Usm-focus is so quiet and fast, first i thought that lense was broken
Buy it if you can afford it.
05-11-2009, 10:06 AM   #4

Dollar for dollar, my money would be on getting an SMC 50mm f/1.7. They are cheap, readily available, high quality, and just feel right. Then, decide if you really want a 50mm on a crop body or if you'd rather get something in the range of 24mm to 40mm. I know 50mm are extremely popular, and I love my manual 1.7, but honestly my FA 35mm f/2.0 makes more sense to me as a standard walk around prime.

05-11-2009, 10:10 AM   #5

50mm f1.4 is soft at wide open but has a nice bokeh. excellent for portrait.

50mm f1.7 is sharpest.

they have only the same focal lenght but they are 2 different lenses.

then you can choose also a DFA 50mm f2.8 macro: another wonderful 50mm lens!
05-11-2009, 10:12 AM   #6
Pentaxian

I bought my 50 f1.4 a few months ago. It's sharp, especially around 2.2 on.
05-11-2009, 10:16 AM   #7