Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2009, 11:03 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Working with manual focus - Please Help-

Hello
I'm planing to purchase some old but good manual focus lenses for my k20.
I never used manual focus lenses and need some help from members please.

My question are:
1. Is it difficult to work with MF? I mean do I have focus confirmation from my camera? For example on AF I hear a little sound from my K20 when the lens focuses. Is there the same way when using MF? If yes then it is easy right?

2. All the MF lenses have focus confirmation from my camera. A reply on thsi question will help me choosing the lenses. I don't want to make a mistake.

I'm a beginner in photography especially in MF. If someone can reply to my questions above I'll greatly appreciate this.

Thanks.

05-12-2009, 11:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Yes, focus confirmation will work.

If you plan to do much use of MF lenses you may wish to consider changing your focus screen to one with a split-prism. Look in the accessory section for any of a zillion discussions on "focus screen", "split-prism", or "Katz Eye" for lots of detail.
05-12-2009, 11:39 AM   #3
Veteran Member

As Mike said, focus confirmation will work - but it might slow you down. After you practice focusing for awhile, you'll find that you can do it faster than the camera - it helps to ignore the focus confirmation at that point and just trust your eyes. A split prism screen helps too, especially when your eyes get tired.
05-12-2009, 11:44 AM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
if you really want to do manual focus, you should consider at some point getting a split image viewfinder.

you may find some MF lenses difficult to focus, if you go to extremes. Specifically very fast lenses because they get a little soft wide open, and some slow lenses due to high depth of field.

05-12-2009, 11:48 AM   #5
Forum Member

Original Poster