Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-16-2009, 09:52 AM   #1

K10D - Need a Cheap Flash

Hi Guys.

I own a K10d and i need a flash.

I dont have alot of money to spend but i would like the head to tilt vertically.

Im new to the flash game so be kind

Ive seen these on eBay, any suggestions.

This one

Or this

Cheers

Peter

05-16-2009, 10:55 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Personally, I've found P-TTL auto flash to be hit and miss. I prefer more manual control. For that, I'd recommend any of the Nikon SB series (24/25/26/28), or Vivitar 283/285. All have vertical tilt, and some zoom/swivel as well. There are several excellent Metz & Sunpak units - though not exactly in the 'cheap' category.
05-16-2009, 04:43 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I recently bought the Lumo Pro flash from Midwest Photo Exchange. It works pretty well except you don't get P-TTL or remote sync but can be triggered by cable, hot shoe and by firing another flash. Very strong and with a tilt/swivel/zoom head. Cheap too. I recommedn.
05-17-2009, 05:37 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I don't think those ebay flashes are P-TTL they have Pentax in the ebay description but don't seem to be actually Pentax-dedicated. They're either manual control or have their own auto sensor. That's not necessarily a problem, but in generally, I'd be concerned about quality with random purchases like this.

05-18-2009, 06:12 AM   #5

I've been looking at these on ebay too. I've actually just picked up a secondhand Jessops one for cheap, but I'll possibly still go for another one of these in the future. The Jessops one has optical triggering and an auto mode which seems to work better than I expected.

Of the ones on ebay, the yongnuo one looks useful for it's adjustable manual power (You should find a slightly cheaper listing than the one you posted, by the way).

Here are another couple that I had been looking at: