Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-17-2009, 05:00 AM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
DSLR Megapixel Query

I have been using film for several years. Got into photography as a neat hobby and I really enjoy it. I have acquired many Pentax and Ricoh cameras and many screw mount and K-mount lenses. I have been seriously considering getting a DSLR. I want to stay with Pentax to continue using all my lenses; however I have a nagging question I need help with.

I do not want to spend the money for the K200D, K10D or even the K2000. Not that they aren't worth it, I just really don't want to spend that money, at least right now. On the other hand, I think I can swing the dough for one of the used 6.1 megapixel models. I guess my questions are; why would anyone get a 6.1 megapixel anything? Can you get superb pictures (blown up, cropped, etc.) using these cameras? Is the limited megapixels low enough to take away from the digital experience? Should I just wait and save my money for one of the 10 megapixel models? When I look at the price differences it really isn't that great. I don't mean to be insulting to those who have the 6.1 megapixel cameras; I am just trying to weight my alternatives. Thanks in advance.

05-17-2009, 05:26 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Me think that pixel count is only one part of the equation. Newer cameras do not only have more pixel, but better technology bundled in (better processing, better light handling, better focus speed and accuracy, ...)

In you case, if you feel you don't need to climb that "technological step", just be happy and buy what you want. The 6mp camera will do fine; and will let you learn dslr-ing without have to spend large amount of money.
05-17-2009, 06:59 AM   #3
Pentaxian