Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-18-2009, 04:55 PM   #1
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Can't figure out where this is coming from

I have this new MZ-7. I shot a 36 exposure roll with it yesterday. There are dust or scratches showing on the scanned film. And I can't figure out where it is coming from.

I have cleaned the camera mirrors, I have cleaned the lens glass. I dusted my scanner, and I cleaned the film. Still I get white spots, scratch looking marks on the scans.

I'm not a newbie to cameras or film or scanners. I know how to clean them all.

So below is a photo with the shown problem. I want to know if any of you have any other suggestions what this could be.

Attached Images

05-18-2009, 05:07 PM   #2
Damn Brit

It could have happened when they were processing the film.
05-18-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
Ole
Administrator

Poor processing or scanning in an environment that isn't dust free.
05-18-2009, 05:26 PM   #4
Veteran Member

What scanner are you using? Does it has some sort of digital ICE?

Your scanned image looks like many of my color negatives when scanned with an Epson Perfection 3200 with no digital ICE. Scanning with a Nikon Coolscan V ED with digital ICE 'fixed' 90% of the dust problem.

05-18-2009, 05:28 PM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Original Poster
I did the scanning Ole. But I thought also, heaven forbid that CVS did this to my film. They do hang them out in the open. I hope they were dry before doing that. If this is the case, you bet I'll find another developer. Wish I had proof.

Thanks guys, cause I was racking my brain trying to figure out where that dust and scratches was coming from. Hoping it wasn't minisicule scratches on the mirror or lens.

It's not my scanner SOldBear. I scan photos and my other negs without any problems. I use an Epson Perfection 4490 and it has digital ice.