Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2009, 02:30 PM   #1

Question: How can I use LCD as Viewfinder?

Hi All!

I am very new to DSLR photography! I just bought a K-m yesterday!
But i encountered a BIG problem!

I dont know how to use the LCD as viewfinder. I dont plan to use it all the time, but sometimes it's not possible to use the viewfinder...

I heard it's not possible, but is there a possible hack?
Or what would you guys do when you cant reach certain angle to take a photo?

thanks!
Alan

05-24-2009, 03:24 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
That feature is know as "Live View" and the K-m does not have it.
You should have bought a K-7!
05-24-2009, 03:46 PM   #3
Inactive Account

If I absolutely cannot get to the viewfinder I usually cannot see the lcd either. In those few cases I usually just use a wide angle and crop the picture down to what I need.
05-24-2009, 03:54 PM   #4
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the forum.

If Live view's a feature you really wanted to have, the K20D or (when it's released) the K-7 are more appropriate.

Unfortunately, there isn't a 'hack' to make the K-m have Live View.

05-24-2009, 04:45 PM   #5

Original Poster
k-7!!
=(
Hmmmmm...
if live-view is the feature... so all sony dslr has this then? I think thats what they all boast?

and... how can i feel more comfortable looking into the viewfinder? i have retina problem with one of my eye.
05-24-2009, 05:11 PM   #6
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

No not all Sony's have this feature either. I just looked over the A700 which is one of their better cameras and it's not a listed feature. Live View is a new feature to DSLR's even though it's common on Point and Shoot type cameras. It has to do with the design of the 2 camera types and that a DSLR has a mirror inside which a P&S doesn't have.