Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-27-2009, 03:20 PM   #1
Forum Member

Recommend two lenses please.

I will be getting a K20D shortly and I wanted to buy two lenses. I want to be able to take shots of tiny things (macro) , portraits, and landscapes. I want a lens that can help create colorful, super sharp images. I am a beginner but I am not looking for a "starter" lens. Price range for each, Id say mid range to high end.

Can you provide links please?

05-27-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
You will need 1:1 lenses for proper Macro, editing software for colorful and skill for sharp.
05-27-2009, 03:45 PM   #3
Veteran Member

As an owner of the D-FA 100mm f2.8 macro, Volna-9 50mm f2.8 macro, Voigtländer Apo-Lanthar 90mm f3.5 close focus, and now a Tamron SP 90mm f2.5 macro, bellows, extension tubes, reverse mounts, macro focusing tele-converters, whathave you, I will say this; for macro, you don't need AF, period. As much as I like the Pentax, and will likely not sell it off any time soon, I hardly ever use the AF; thus go for what people tell you has the best optical quality regardless of AF/MF; which usually means, if you're going to spend the same amount of money, you should go for a high quality MF lens in great condition.

BTW, all four of those lense I listed are fantastic, although only 1 of them does 1:1 straight up.
05-27-2009, 04:15 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

It really depends on what you are taking photos of. If you are capturing non-moving things, I love the DA 35. It doubles as a decent walk around lens, although the auto focus is a little slow. Definitely very sharp and great contrast.

If you want to take photos of bugs and moving things at a macro level, you could either go with extension tubes, or a dedicated macro lens of longer length. A lot of folks seem to like DFA 100, although I don't have it personally.

05-27-2009, 04:19 PM   #5
Site Supporter