Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-23-2007, 09:22 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Software advice for newbie

I'm new to digital photography, and need some advice regarding what software to use for storing, editing, etc., my pictures. Photoshop CS3 is simply out of the question because of the cost. I have Photoshop Elements 2.0 which I have just installed on my computer and also have installed the Adobe Lightroom demo. It's obvious that both of these programs require considerable learning and practice, and rather than trying to learn both (and maybe learning neither as a consequence) I'm seeking advice on which way to go. As the new kid on the block, Lighroom has gotten all the recent media attention, but based on the tiny bit I've seen about Photoshop I'm wondering if it has more versatility. I'd certainly appreciate any advice from those conversant with both programs. Thanks

04-24-2007, 02:06 PM   #2
Inactive Account

I suggest trying "Picture Window Pro" from Digital Light and Color.

Digital Light & Color - Welcome - What's New

It's a very powerful, yet inexpensive, image editing tool. They have a 30 day trial free download to test it out.

There are several categories of digital photography software, the two most essential, in my opinion, are raw conversion and editing. Lightroom is primarily for raw conversion. I use its predecessor, Raw Shooter Essentials (& Pro) bought by Adobe. Still evaluating Lightroom. Have you tried Pentax Photo Lab that comes with the camera? Hope this info helps
04-24-2007, 02:21 PM   #3

QuoteOriginally posted by Clem Nichols Quote
I'm new to digital photography, and need some advice regarding what software to use for storing, editing, etc., my pictures. Photoshop CS3 is simply out of the question because of the cost.
If you have a kid or relative in college or university who has no interest in PhotoShop, the costs through academic purchasing are pretty fantastic.