Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2009, 07:14 AM   #1
Inactive Account

DSLR Flash Inquiry

Hi there!

Some quick background:
I'm new to this forum, but not new to photography.
I've been shooting professionally for over twenty years.
My medium format cameras were Pentax 645's.
I went digital first to Nikon, then switched to Canon, and am now considering making the switch and going over to Pentax (based upon my good experiences with their medium format cameras).
I mainly shoot weddings, events and portraits.

Now that I've given you some background, what I'm looking for is straightforward feedback on how Pentax's flash system works.
My real-world experiences were that Nikon's iTTL worked pretty well for me, and Canon's eTTL-2 works well most of the time, but I constantly have to ride the flash exposure compensation (especially on a wedding) and find that it under-exposes most of the time.

What information can you give me regarding the accuracy of the system, and whether or not it's easy to work with?

Thanks!

Bill

05-29-2009, 07:33 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I do not use flash that often, but when I do, I've found exposure to be 99% of the time "correct". I must admit I've encountered very few situations where the exposure was totally off. Such situations most always were related to close range photography (less than 3 ft)

Interesting though, I've found that when using wireless p-ttl (with my K20D and AF540FGZ flash unit, the exposure is always right. I've even used p-ttl flash with one 540, one 360 and one 500 (this one in slave + manual exposure) and the whole array worked very nice.
05-29-2009, 07:39 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery