Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2009, 10:49 AM   #1
Veteran Member

The three imaging parameters... let me get this right...

Hi Everyone, I've been using my k200d for the past 5 months and teaching myself (with the help of this forum and wanted to get something clear.

The three things that affect the exposure are the following (with their respective effects on the image), please correct me if i'm wrong in any way:

ISO: determines the how sensitive the sensor is to light. the more sensitive, the more noise you get...

Shutter speed: doesn't need explaining, but to let more light in, the more you're exposed to shake, unless you use a tripod

Aperture: how wide the irises are set in your lens, the faster (or more open), the shallower the DOF.

Now, what I'm trying to understand is how metering makes it's way into the equation. For example, the new k7 has 77 metering segments, thus it calculates what level of ISO, shutter speed and aperture should be used based on 77 different parts of the image (if you were to use matrix metering)?

Thanks, I just want to be clear on this.. before i venture off any have no clue what i'm talking about.

05-29-2009, 10:56 AM   #2
and
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
The metering determines the best exposure, there is only 1 exposure for the image, you have the same iso, shutter, aperture for the whole image.

The meter measures the light in 77 parts of the image, then averages them to come up with 1 exposure value, then adjusts the 3 settings to give an exposure of that value.

Think of the exposure as a given number in EV, lets pick 11. So the camera will adjust the iso shutter and aperture to get an exposure of 11, if you think that is wrong you can use the EV compensation to say you want one at 12 or one at 10 etc.