Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2009, 04:06 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Super simple flash Q

Hi,

I have never used an external flash before, but know what kind of picture the k200d's internal flash can give. It's usually way too bright and spoils the shot with bright whites bouncing off the subject.

Is an external flash that much better? I prefer warm images with nice tones, ie, those that result from my FA f1.4 50mm during sunset portraits, however, do the external flashes offer this in very low light situations?

I read that a lot of people like to use a remote flash so it can illuminate from the side instead of "head-on", but is there a specific type of bulb or filament that is better for this shot?

Thanks. Accept me as a complete novice with flashes....

05-29-2009, 07:59 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by esman7 Quote
Is an external flash that much better?
Yes, very, very much so, when used right. If you just point the flash directly at your subject from the top of the camera, it may be even worse (due to the even-brighter flash) than with the built-in, but when used carefully to provide indirect lighting, you can get great results. And this is actually easily done (indoors with normal-height ceilings) with any flash which can tilt upwards to bounce. Very simple, and gives good results.

See my flash guide on some options here: Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison: Tilt / Swivel Flash Head

I prefer warm images with nice tones, ie, those that result from my FA f1.4 50mm during sunset portraits, however, do the external flashes offer this in very low light situations?
You can adjust the flash power to provide a mix of flash and natural lighting something that's pretty hard to do with the built-in flash.