Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-29-2009, 08:23 PM   #1

Old lenses modern camera?

I have a couple of lenses that were originally for a pentax k1000 and it's equivalent counter parts. Does anyone know if these lenses would fit the new pentax k7? Does anyone know of any modern camera (late 2007, 2008, 2009) that these lenses might fit on?

05-29-2009, 08:29 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
All of Pentax's K-Mount lenses will work on any modern DSLR the older manual lenses however may have some metering issues on certain bodies. You can use this handy chart to see which lenses and bodies are compatible.

The Pentax Camera Lens Compatibility Chart
05-29-2009, 08:41 PM   #3

Original Poster
FIRST OF ALL I want to thank you very much for replying! And then second, I'm a complete newbie to photography and all else relating to it. That chart gave me at least hope, but it made little sense to me. So maybe if I list the lenses you can tell me if they are compatible are not. The lenses are: "deitz multi-coated auto tele converter 2x for pentax-k", and a "auto makinon macro lense 1:2.8 f=135mm"
05-29-2009, 09:11 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Pretty much any K-mount lens will work on any of the Pentax digital SLRs. The key feature you're looking for for improved compatibility is the 'A' position on the aperture ring. If present, all autoexposure modes & features will work. If not, you will generally need to shoot either manual with stop-down metering or in Av (aperture-priority) mode with lens always wide open (largest aperture).