Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-30-2009, 07:39 PM   #1

Just picked up a K2000. Any recommendations/advice on lenses and settings?

Hello all. I'm moving up from a P/S to the world of DSLRs. I was hoping to pick up a K100D super from the Ritz deals, but I was too late. Instead, I got a good deal on a K2000.

I'm new to Pentax and was wondering what model lenses can I use on a K mount body? I'm also shooting JPEG and was wondering what settings are people using in their K2000.

05-30-2009, 07:50 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Welcome.
You can use any Pentax or third party lens meant for Pentax. Old screwmounts will require an adapter.
As far as settings go, you should read the manual and play around with the settings until you get the look you like. One persons settings might not necessarily be the best for you.
05-30-2009, 08:23 PM   #3

Original Poster
What third party lenses are available for Pentax DSLRs? And, are screwmounts M42 lenses?
05-30-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Assuming that your body came with the kit (18-55) lens, then that's a good one to start on in getting to know your camera. Pentax's kit lens is considered among the best out of all the different camera manufacturer's kit lenses. If you'd like something longer, then both the DA50-200 and DA55-300 are reasonably priced options.