Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2009, 06:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Cheap flash for Pentax *ist DS with M42 lens?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi everybody,

I'm a complete newbie who just bought a used Pentax *ist DS from a great seller on this forum.

I've been using it with the only lens I have - the Super Takumar 50mm 1.4, which is a fully manual M42 lens.

All is well, except for the built-in flash, which always fires at maximum. This seems to be a bahaviour that is well documented in this forum, so I take it this means I need an external flash.

Requirements: I've never used one before, so I'd prefer it be easy to use, i.e. in auto mode and so on. I just need it for indoor shots of people in darker rooms and occasionally in churches with high ceilings, and maybe flash-fill in brighter conditions. I don't really know... And yes, it has to be cheap, by that I mean under AUS$50 (or US$35 or so). I heard that having a swivel would be nice, but really, I don't know, maybe one with a vertical tilt would suffice?

And no, I still don't quite get all the jargons like TTL, P-TTL...

I'm from Sydney, Australia. I saw a listing on eBay (it's a AF220T):
PENTAX AF220T TTL Compatible Flash. - eBay, Flashes, Photographic Accessories, Cameras. (end time 07-Jun-09 19:44:01 AEST)

Your help would be most appreciated. Thanks!!

Last edited by iht; 05-31-2009 at 06:41 PM.
05-31-2009, 09:26 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Quick flash type rundown:
Completely manual - you set the power yourself.
"A" Flash (flash has a sensor to control light output) - Usually has at least a couple of automatic ranges and a full power mode at minimum