Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-01-2009, 02:17 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
k100d super vs k2000

I'm looking at the k100d super and the 2000. I've seen amazing pictures taken with the k100d (and super). I seen very few postings of photos taken with the k-2000. Nor are there many posts from people who've purchased the k-2000. Is it because it's new or because it's not a good camera. The reviews I've read have been pretty mixed. The main features I'm looking at are the 11 pt af vs the 5 pt af ... how important is that to total novice dslr user? The battery life of the 100d super seems very short. I thought that the help button might be really useful considering I know very little about photography (much less dslr photo). I'd like a camera that takes good pictures, that's easy to handle, travel with and grow with. Any suggestions?

06-01-2009, 02:29 PM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I would go with the K2000. It has several advanced features which you can grow into using, and a 10MP sensor over the 6MP sensor of the K100. When I upgraded to the K10D with 10MP I noticed much more detail in for example (distant) background foliage, and it also allows to crop much more (handy when you left your long telelens at home...).

I only use the center focus point, that is I point at what should be in focus, and then lock focus, so for me it doesn't matter whether the camera has 1, 5, or 11 focus points! It depends on your style if the 11 versus 5 points is an issue.
06-01-2009, 02:31 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery