Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-02-2009, 08:58 AM   #1

DSLR noob ((k10d) help/advice

hey i posted this in the wanted section, and now that i've found a few great deals on k10ds i'll definitely be choosing one shortly. but i've just copied and pasted here for teh sake of simplicity...

Hey, I'm just getting started in the world of DSLRs...
I'd like to start with a k10d and work up to a K7 later on down the line...

I will be traveling to Pakistan in July for about a month and would love to take a quality dslr with me to document everything i can. I like the k10d as a starter because of its appealing price, weather resistance, and over all features.

I'm a novice by all means, so please help me get in the right direction...

I'd love to get a "starter kit"
k10d, a lens or some, the proper accessories...

I'll be taking all sorts of photographs while on my trip

pictures of the pakistani countryside (it really is a beautiful country) ..
pictures of fast moving traffic and general population,
pictures of the flora and fauna,
and hopefully, if i can get there, pictures of the refugee camps and soldiers in the region as well as rebel/resistance fighters. and even more hopefully, some combat photographs...

So this ranges from Landscape, to macro, to sports/action....
I'm not lookin to break the bank on lenses, so some good budget lenses for these purposes would be great.
Any suggestions on lenses to buy?

You all seem like a very helpful bunch here as i've been lurking and reading here for quite some time.
thanks in advance for your help.

also, I'll be using a MOLLE vest w/ PALS webbing, I've never seen it, but is there any camera gear designed to be used w/ MOLLE/PALS webbing?
that would be awesome. thanks.

06-02-2009, 09:13 AM   #2
Veteran Member

first wow!! what an amazing trip!!! I would love to be there with you...

but be careful !!

I would try to get the new kit lenses that are coming with the K-7