Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-07-2009, 06:01 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Good Plan or Bad Plan??

Since I am relatively new to DSLR's, only have limited slr experience from a LONG time ago, and more recent experience with some advance point and shoot cameras, I am certainly a newbie.

I'm preparing to make the move up from my Panasonic FZ28 to my first DSLR. I do use many of the custom features and controls on my point and shoot, and I rarely use the auto mode, but it's still a far cry from the dslr world.

I've been looking, researching, holding, and playing with a variety of cameras from different mfg's. They all seemed pretty nice, and none of them were awful, but I was really drawn to the Pentax k2000. It felt great in my hands, had the basic features that I wanted and is budget freindly. So, I was planning to enter into the DSLR realm with this camera with the 2 lens kit for starters. As I progress, I figured that I could add lenses and eventually move up to a more advanced Pentax if I felt the need. (k7 in a couple of years??)

Am I missing anything vital or guilty of a serious oversight with this plan?

ETA:
I've only shot jpgs to this point. Are the jpg's straight out of the k200 really bad as some reveiws remark, and will I HAVE to shoot RAW? Does the k2000 come with the software to convert and edit the RAW images? I have Photoscape and it has a RAW converter- will that do the trick? How about the Silky pics software that came with my FZ28?

Here is one of my point & shoot photos taken in the backyard. (I also use my camera for web product photos)

Last edited by Sew-Classic; 06-07-2009 at 06:21 AM. Reason: ETA
06-07-2009, 06:32 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Only thing I think you're missing from the plan is a nice prime lens. I highly recommend the DA 40mm Limited as a great companion to the K2000. (In fact, I'd recommend that over getting the two kit lenses.)