Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-10-2009, 12:42 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Raw File format choice (Newbie)

I've a K20D & I'm confused abut which raw file format to use. I use Bridge, ACR & Photoshop. I set the RAW format to PEF (cos the ACR doc says K20 supported via PEF) & convert to DNG on import. This takes time. the K20 supports DNG - but is this compatible with ACR ? I note that the Adobe DNG converter converts K20 DNG to (its own?) DNG so I'm guessing not ... Also which camera calibration setting do I use after import and convert to DNG ? Camera standard or ACR 4 or adobe standard ?

Any help appreciated

06-10-2009, 02:27 AM   #2

I'm not an expert in DNG format but from what I've read the DNG from K20D (and K10D for that matter) is not compressed. The Adobe DNG converter compresses the file so you get a smaller file (with all the info nevertheless)

Converting PEF to DNG only makes sense if one believes that PEF will somehow be forgoten.

PEF is already compressed so you can squeeze more files in you SD card. Almost all image programs read the K20D PEF.

I just use PEF and forget that DNG exists.

Hope this gives some light on the matter.

Regards,
Luis
06-10-2009, 02:39 AM   #3
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by lpfonseca Quote
I'm not an expert in DNG format but from what I've read the DNG from K20D (and K10D for that matter) is not compressed. The Adobe DNG converter compresses the file so you get a smaller file (with all the info nevertheless)

Converting PEF to DNG only makes sense if one believes that PEF will somehow be forgoten.

PEF is already compressed so you can squeeze more files in you SD card. Almost all image programs read the K20D PEF.

I just use PEF and forget that DNG exists.

Hope this gives some light on the matter.

Regards,
Luis
All Adobe software I use (mostly Lightroom, but also PS and ACR) work with both formats.