Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-21-2009, 07:36 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Wide Angle Primes?

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie. I've been shooting with the Super Takumar 50mm for the last few months with my "new" *ist DS. It's been a great learning experience.

As I'm getting to know what 50mm can do, I'm starting to think it'll be nice to acquire a wide angle lens. It'll be used for doing landscape, and maybe inside churches and buildings for interior shots, which are very difficult with the 50mm at 1.5x on a DSLR.

Any recommendations? I'm thinking of getting a used 28mm, either a M42 option, or a M or A lens. MF is fine. I just need it cheap, like below US$50. I see that anything under 28mm is very expensive, and anything over 35mm is just not really wide angle on a DSLR.

Or maybe the 18-55 kit lens offers comparable quality to these primes?

Your help will be most appreciated!

Thanks.

06-21-2009, 10:30 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For your budget plan, I guess nothing can beat a used kit lens (18-55). Of course, it will not give you super sharp shots but for sure, can do very nice images even blown up to 11 x 14 inches.
06-21-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
Pentaxian

28mm isn't particularly wide on a Pentax DSLR, either, but it's actually as wide as I really feel like shooting "most" of the time, so I do like my M28/2.8. I find it a great focal length for landscape, but it won't be nearly wide enough for church interiors - just for individual sections of the church. You're better off with the 18-55 if you want an inexpensive wide angle lens. Either should be available used for around $50.
06-21-2009, 06:02 PM   #4
Veteran Member

If you want something wider, you can use the zenitar 16mm.
It would set you back around $160 plus though.
It has somekind of a fisheye effect but not too much.

06-21-2009, 06:25 PM   #5
Veteran Member