Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

View Poll Results: K-7 or D5000 or T1i/500D?
K-7 3088.24%
D5000 38.82%
T1i/500D 12.94%
Voters: 34. You may not vote on this poll

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-27-2009, 03:09 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Choices Choices!

Hello all,

I have been contemplating for a new DSLR and reading quite a bit about the K-7. If I miss any post, please post some links. I am a newbie that shoots mostly family activities, portraits, trips, and scenery. We have a P&S but I borrowed a Canon SLR for the past few weeks to try out. I thought of K2000 or K200D but HD Video would be a great plus, will definitely get an external mic. I won't have to carry two devices for those right moments (hardly bring out a camcorder anymore.) The P&S was great for this purpose. This DSRL will get me into this hobby and am looking forward to it.

Mostly, I see that K-7 has built-in SR, seals, fast burst rate, lens backward compatibility, & many other great features!!! My plan is to get one pretty lens for all things and then acquire flash and specialty lenses like primes as needs dictate and budget allows. My choices have come down to these two:

1) K-7 with Tamron AF 18-250

Is the Tamron the best choice for the price ($450)? I don't want to change lenses yet at the beginning to avoid dust and all.

Would the kit lens with WR be a better choice given ability to shoot in the (light) rain? Some people have mentioned here to have done that and also Falk Lumo: K-7 in the rain. I am just very concerned with equipment of this value. Preventing my toddler son from playing with this camera will be tough, any tips here?

Am I correct to assume that the Remote Control F can be configured to press and release the shutter in Bulb mode, Menu C3, 17 in the manual page 86? We already have a tri-pod.

2) Nikon D5000 with 18-200 VR