Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2009, 06:34 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Using high shutter speeds

Hello,

I have a quick question about high shutter speeds. Whenever I put on a very high shutters speeds 1/1000+, then the shot is very dark, even when I try to keep the aperture as high as I can. This is is broad daylight, so I don't know what to do to make it a useable pic.

06-29-2009, 07:05 PM   #2

I'm not really an expert here, but I guess the obvious question is, What are you trying to photograph at such high shutter speeds?

The basic problem that you're experiencing is that there's not enough light getting to your CCD/film to expose the picture properly.

The amount of light getting to the CCD/film is a combination of your shutter speed (how long the shutter is left open) and the aperature set on your lense (how big the hole in the lense is).

For a constant aperature (hole size), If the shutter speed is too short or too long, you'll get an under-exposed (dark) or over-exposed (white) picture.

Likewise, for a constant shutter speed, if the aperature hole is too small or too large, you'll get the same result.

Getting the right shutterspeed and aperature setting is where your skill and experience comes into play. Else use the auto setting on your camera to do it all for you

HTH,
Tim
06-29-2009, 11:09 PM   #3
Damn Brit

What mode are you shooting in and give us an example; what aperture and what shutter speed.
06-30-2009, 12:00 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
what are you trying to shoot at broad daylight?

in anycase, please check your exposure compensation level and ISO as well. are you shooting in a dark shade? the worst case scenario is that you have a defective or broken CCD.

06-30-2009, 04:39 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by swhang Quote
Hello,