Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-05-2009, 01:35 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Newbie Needs HELP!

OK ya'll I'm a newbie, so be easy with me. First off, I'm not a newcomer to photography. I've been shooting film, both as an amateur and professionally for over 40 years.
I've shot Nikon, Canon, Leica (my favorite) and Pentax. All good rigs. I quit shooting several years ago when everything started going digital.
Now, I'm ready to get back into the game and need some advice. I've decided that I'm going with Pentax (more bang for the buck), but I can't decide which one to get. All of the digital cameras seem somewhat intimidating to me with all the buttons, controls, etc. With film it was all pretty straightforward. You had to know exposure, composition, shutter speeds, etc.
The question is this: Which camera would be best for me to learn digital: K2000, K200, or K20 ... the new K7 is out of the question due to price? I want to get back into photography at a serious level, but am concerned about learning the new technology and with all the different features, etc. I'm not sure which model would be the best starting point.
Bob Hillerby
Combat Photographer
B 1/9th Cav, 1st Cavalry Division (Airmobile)
Republic of Vietnam 1966-1967

07-05-2009, 02:06 PM   #2
Pentaxian

My experience in starting with digital with the K100 in 2007 is that it won't matter which camera you select. You will learn equally from any of them, or even an older model digital.

Since I added a K200 I have come to appreciate the weather sealing, but only because I've used it quite a bit in the rain, in conditions where water did infiltrate my K100 (but no harm seems to have been done.)

The other factor might be the viewfinder. I don't have one, but I understand it's bigger/brighter on the K7 and K10/20. If you have difficulty seeing, or want to use old, manual focus lenses, that might be a factor for you.